Justin McKelvey

Justin McKelvey

Fractional CTO · 15 years, 50+ products shipped

• AI for Business • 11 min read •

AI Usage Limits by Plan (September 2026): ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, and Copilot on One Page

AI usage limits by plan: the short answer

As of September 2026, every major AI vendor meters paid plans on a rolling 5-hour window with a weekly cap on top, and only one of them publishes a real number. OpenAI prints estimates (10 to 100 GPT-5.6 Sol messages per 5 hours on Plus, 200 GPT-6 Pro messages a week on Pro $200). Anthropic prints multipliers (Pro is at least 5x Free, Max is 5x or 20x Pro). Google prints multipliers (AI Pro is 4x Free, Ultra is 5x or 20x Pro). Microsoft prints "usage limits apply" and a table of words like "extensive use." Every cell below comes from a vendor page I read on September 21, 2026 — except the Microsoft rows, which carry forward from September 15 because Microsoft's commercial pages did not render to a plain fetch this week — and where a vendor publishes nothing, the cell says "not published."

This page exists because the question "what are the usage limits" has four different answers depending on the logo, and each vendor only publishes its own. The detailed posts on ChatGPT usage limits, Codex usage limits, and Claude usage limits go deep on each meter. This is the table that puts them side by side.

Every plan, every vendor, one table

Plan Price Unlimited Metered Window Reset and overflow
ChatGPT Free $0 Everyday text chat (GPT-5.6 Luna) Uploads, images, voice, deep research, Codex, Work (desktop only) Not published Reset time shown in app
ChatGPT Go $8/month Everyday text chat (Luna) Same meters as Free, higher caps; no GPT-5.6 Sol Not published Reset time shown in app
ChatGPT Plus $20/month Everyday text chat Reasoning (Medium and High only, count not published); Work and Codex: 15 to 150 GPT-6 Sol or 5 to 45 Astra local messages Rolling 5 hours; weekly may also apply Falls back to another model on reasoning; buy credits for Work and Codex
ChatGPT Pro $100 $100/month Everyday text chat, image creation GPT-6 Pro: a weekly allowance shared with Sol Pro, count no longer published; Work and Codex: no 5-hour limit Weekly; no 5-hour limit Wait or buy credits
ChatGPT Pro $200 $200/month Everyday text chat, image creation GPT-6 Pro weekly, Sol Pro daily plus a combined daily cap, counts no longer published; Work and Codex: no 5-hour limit Weekly and daily; no 5-hour limit Auto-switches to Sol Medium; open to new sign-ups again at a lower allowance (September 29, 2026)
ChatGPT Business Standard seat $20 annual, $25 monthly Instant chat GPT-6 Pro: 15 a month shared; Work and Codex: 15 to 150 GPT-6 Sol or 5 to 45 Astra local messages, the same estimates as Plus Rolling 5 hours plus weekly Continues on workspace credits if admin allows
ChatGPT Business Premium seat $100 annual, $125 monthly Instant chat GPT-6 Pro: 50 a week shared; Work and Codex: 5x Standard, full Astra No 5-hour limit; weekly may apply Continues on workspace credits if admin allows
Codex with an API key Usage-based Nothing capped Every token at API rates; no cloud features None Your bill grows
Claude Free $0 Nothing All usage, count not published; Claude Code not included Rolling 5-hour session Wait for the session to reset
Claude Pro $20 monthly, $17 annual Nothing At least 5x Free per session, count not published; claude.ai, Desktop, Claude Code, Cowork share one pool Rolling 5 hours plus weekly (fixed reset time) Wait, upgrade, or usage credits at API rates
Claude Max 5x $100/month Nothing 5x Pro per session, count not published Rolling 5 hours plus weekly Wait or usage credits
Claude Max 20x $200/month Nothing 20x Pro per session, count not published Rolling 5 hours plus weekly Wait or usage credits
Claude Team Standard seat $20 annual, $25 monthly Nothing 1.25x Pro per session, per member Rolling 5 hours plus weekly Org-enabled usage credits
Claude Team Premium seat $100 annual, $125 monthly Nothing 6.25x Pro per session (5x Standard), per member Rolling 5 hours plus weekly Org-enabled usage credits
Claude Enterprise $20/seat plus usage at API rates Nothing Pooled usage, admin spend limits Rolling window Usage bill grows
Gemini Free $0 Nothing "Standard limits," compute-based, count not published; 32K context Refreshes every 5 hours until weekly limit Wait; Deep Research may be unavailable at high demand
Google AI Plus $4.99/month Nothing 2x Free; 128K context Refreshes every 5 hours until weekly limit Continue on Flash-Lite, or AI credits
Google AI Pro $19.99/month Nothing 4x Free; 1M context Refreshes every 5 hours until weekly limit Continue on Flash-Lite, or AI credits
Google AI Ultra $99.99 (5x Pro) or $199.99 (20x Pro) Nothing 5x or 20x AI Pro; 1M context; Deep Think Refreshes every 5 hours until weekly limit Continue on Flash-Lite, or AI credits
Google Workspace Business (Starter, Standard, Plus) $7, $14, $22 per user/month annual Not published Gemini in Gmail, Docs, Meet and the Gemini app; limits not published Not published Not published
Gemini Enterprise, Business edition From $21/seat/month Not published Limits not published; up to 300 seats Not published Not published
Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat $0 with eligible Microsoft 365 plans Not published Web-grounded chat "subject to service capacity"; agents metered in Copilot Credits Not published Credit caps reset on the 1st of the month
Microsoft 365 Copilot Business (add-on) $18/user/month yearly (list $21), $25.20 monthly Not published Copilot in Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, Teams; per-user count not published Not published Admin-set monthly Copilot Credit limits
Microsoft 365 Business Standard or Premium with Copilot $23.50 or $32 per user/month yearly Not published Same Copilot as the add-on, bundled with the suite Not published Admin-set monthly Copilot Credit limits
Microsoft 365 Personal / Family / Premium / Pro $9.99 / $12.99 / $19.99 / $99.99 per month Nothing Chat "extensive use" on all; Voice and Vision "standard / more / highest"; Researcher and Analyst only on Premium and Pro; counts not published Not published Monthly AI credits for some features

Last verified: October 5, 2026. This page is re-checked every Monday against the vendor pages listed in each section below. Nothing changed this week across Anthropic's pricing page, Google's AI plans and Gemini subscription pages, OpenAI's Codex pricing page, or Microsoft's Copilot Business page. Every price and every published limit above matched on re-read, including the Microsoft rows ($18 a user a month yearly, down from $21; $25.20 monthly; $23.50 and $32 for the bundled suites), which had carried forward from September 15 until this read.

One genuine addition from the September 21 re-read, on the Anthropic side: "Claude for Microsoft Outlook" is now its own row in Anthropic's plan comparison, separate from "Claude for Microsoft 365" — No on Free, Yes on Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise. Microsoft's marketplace carries the matching add-in listing, "currently in beta on all paid Claude plans." The detail is on Claude for Outlook. It does not change any usage number in the table above, because Anthropic publishes none for it.

How OpenAI meters ChatGPT

OpenAI is the only vendor that prints numbers, and it prints them for three separate meters. Plain text chat carries no cap on any ChatGPT plan beyond abuse guardrails. Reasoning with GPT-5.6 Sol has a limit OpenAI doesn't quantify on Plus, and when you hit it ChatGPT may continue on another model. GPT-6 Pro in Chat has hard weekly allowances (200 on Pro $200, 50 on Pro $100, 15 a month on a Business Standard seat, 50 a week on Premium). The full plan-by-plan version is on ChatGPT usage limits, and the seat math is on ChatGPT Business pricing.

How OpenAI meters Codex

ChatGPT Work and Codex share one agentic allowance, and OpenAI publishes it as estimated local messages per 5-hour window by model: 15 to 160 with GPT-6.1 Sol and 15 to 150 with GPT-6 Sol on Plus, 5 to 45 with GPT-6 Astra, 350 to 3,000 with GPT-6 Luna (OpenAI's pricing doc as read September 30, 2026; Standard Business seats get the same estimates as Plus). Business Premium gets five times Standard with no 5-hour limit, Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit at all, and "weekly limits may also apply." Pro now comes at $100, $200 or $500, and the $500 plan is the only self-serve one with GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast, which burns included usage at 8x the Standard-speed rate (Fast mode is 2.5x). Image generation burns the allowance 3 to 5x faster, cloud tasks can use more, and an active turn is allowed to finish when you hit the wall. Everything that quietly drains it is on Codex usage limits.

How Anthropic meters Claude

Anthropic publishes no message count for any plan and says so plainly: "there's no fixed message count." Every plan resets on a rolling 5-hour session window, paid plans add a weekly limit that resets at a fixed time assigned to your account, and claude.ai, Desktop, Claude Code, and Cowork all draw from one pool. What Anthropic does publish is relative: Pro is at least 5x Free per session, Max is 5x or 20x Pro, Team Standard seats are 1.25x Pro and Premium seats are 6.25x Pro. Paid plans can turn on usage credits at API rates, with bundles from $50 (billed $45) to $1,000 (billed $700). The mechanism, and why the missing number is the honest answer, is on Claude usage limits; the seat decision is on the Claude Team plan.

How Google meters Gemini

Since May 17, 2026, Gemini has charged each prompt by how much compute it takes, which depends on the prompt, the model and features, and how long the chat has run, and the allowance refreshes every 5 hours until a weekly limit stops it. Google publishes multipliers, not counts: AI Plus is 2x Free, AI Pro is 4x Free, AI Ultra is 5x or 20x Pro. Generating images or video, Deep Research, the Pro model and Deep Think are the expensive requests; a subscriber who runs out drops to Flash-Lite or buys AI credits. The one hard number Google gives is context: 32K tokens on the free tier, 128K on AI Plus, 1M on AI Pro and Ultra. The by-plan detail is on Gemini usage limits.

How Microsoft meters Copilot

Microsoft publishes the least. The Microsoft 365 Copilot Business add-on ($18 a user a month on the current promo, $21 list) carries no per-user prompt count on its pricing page; the metered part is agents, which draw Copilot Credits that admins cap per user per month, resetting on the first. Copilot Chat comes free with eligible Microsoft 365 plans and is "subject to service capacity." On the consumer side, Microsoft's own limits page lists Copilot chat as "extensive use" on Personal ($9.99), Family ($12.99), Premium ($19.99), and Pro ($99.99), with Voice and Vision graded "standard," "more," and "highest." No numbers anywhere. If your team lives in Word and Excel, that vagueness is a feature; if you want to budget usage, it's a problem.

Who publishes what: the disclosure scorecard

The table above answers "what do I get." This one answers the question underneath it: how much each vendor is willing to tell you. Two vendors without a row above, x.ai and Cursor, are here too, because they publish even less than Microsoft.

Vendor Prints a count? Prints a multiplier? Names the window? Weekly cap? At the wall
OpenAI (ChatGPT, Codex) Yes, as ranges: messages per 5 hours by model for Work and Codex, GPT-6 Pro messages per week Yes: Pro 5x and 20x Plus Yes, rolling 5 hours (none on Business Premium seats) "May also apply," size not published Credits; reasoning falls back to another model
Anthropic (Claude, Claude Code) No Yes: Pro at least 5x Free; Max 5x or 20x Pro; Team 1.25x and 6.25x Pro Yes, rolling 5-hour session Yes on paid plans, size not published, reset time fixed per account Usage credits at API rates
Google (Gemini) No; context windows are the only hard numbers Yes: 2x, 4x, then 5x or 20x AI Pro Yes, refreshes every 5 hours Yes, size not published Flash-Lite, or AI credits
Microsoft (Microsoft 365 Copilot) No No; tiers are words like "extensive use" No No; admin-set monthly Copilot Credit caps reset on the 1st Agents stop until the 1st
Cursor (Cursor) No Yes: Pro+ 3x and Ultra 20x Pro, with Pro itself unstated No Not stated Not stated on the pricing page
x.ai (Grok) No Not for the allowance; "2x" and "5x longer conversations" on the checkout page No Not stated Not stated; the API is priced per token

Read down the "names the window" column and the category splits cleanly. The three largest vendors agree on a five-hour clock and a weekly ceiling above it, and disagree only on whether to print a number inside it. Microsoft, Cursor and x.ai don't name a clock at all, which means a heavy week on those tools gives you nothing to plan the next one against except your own usage screen.

Which plan to buy, by owner profile

Solo operator

Start at $20 and pick by the meter that will actually bind you. If your day is chat and documents, ChatGPT Plus gives you unlimited text and a Work allowance; Claude Pro gives you a 5-hour session that resets all day and includes Claude Code. If you're running an agent for hours, the $100 tier is where the real usage is: ChatGPT Pro $100 (5x) or Claude Max 5x. I'd skip $200 tiers until a $100 tier has locked you out twice in one week. ChatGPT Pro $200 is buyable again as of September 29, but new subscribers get a smaller allowance than it used to carry.

5-person team

Buy Standard seats for everyone and one Premium seat for whoever runs the agents. On ChatGPT Business that's 4 x $20 plus 1 x $100, or $180 a month billed annually, and the Premium seat has no 5-hour limit. On Claude Team it's the same $180 with the Premium seat at 6.25x Pro per session, and every seat's limit is per member, so one heavy user can't drain the others. Turn on workspace credits with a monthly cap before anyone hits a wall. Google AI Pro at $19.99 a head is cheaper, but it's a personal-account plan; for a business account you're looking at Workspace or Gemini Enterprise, where no limit is published.

20-person team

Seat-type mix is the whole decision. Run 30 days on Standard seats, read the usage analytics, then move the three or four people who hit limits to Premium. At 16 Standard plus 4 Premium, both ChatGPT Business and Claude Team land at $720 a month billed annually. If the team is already on Microsoft 365 Business Standard, the Copilot bundle at $23.50 a user is the cheapest all-in number on this page, but you're trading a published limit for "usage limits apply." The rule I'd set on day one, on any vendor: a monthly credit cap per seat type, so the first surprise is a notification and not an invoice.

Sources

Every cell comes from the vendor's own page. Read dates are the latest read behind the numbers on this page.

Free Resource Justin McKelvey

Hit the cap? Every plan's limit, one page.

ChatGPT, Codex, Claude, Gemini, and Copilot: what's metered, what resets when, and the cheapest way around each. Re-sent when a limit moves.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which AI plan has the highest usage limits?
As of September 2026, the top personal tiers are ChatGPT Pro $500 (added in September above Pro $200, which is open to new sign-ups again as of September 29), Claude Max 20x at $200 (20x Pro per 5-hour session), and Google AI Ultra at $199.99 (20x AI Pro). None of the three publishes a message count. Claude and Gemini run a 5-hour window with a weekly cap on top; OpenAI says Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit in Work and Codex, though weekly limits may still apply.
Do all AI plans use a 5-hour window?
Three of the four do. OpenAI meters ChatGPT Work and Codex per rolling 5-hour window (Business Premium seats are the exception, with no 5-hour limit), Anthropic resets every Claude plan on a rolling 5-hour session, and Google refreshes Gemini limits every 5 hours until you hit the weekly limit. Microsoft publishes no window at all for Microsoft 365 Copilot; it says usage limits apply and meters agents with Copilot Credits that reset on the first of the month.
What is actually unlimited on a $20 AI plan?
On ChatGPT Plus ($20), everyday text chat is unlimited subject to abuse guardrails; reasoning, GPT-6 Pro, and the Work and Codex allowance are metered. On Claude Pro ($20 monthly) nothing is unlimited: you get at least 5x Free per 5-hour session plus a weekly cap. On Google AI Pro ($19.99) you get 4x the free tier's compute-based limit, refreshed every 5 hours. On Microsoft 365 Premium ($19.99) Microsoft lists Copilot chat as 'extensive use' without a number.
Which vendors publish an actual number?
Only OpenAI, and only for some meters: GPT-6 Pro messages (200 a week on Pro $200, 50 a week on Pro $100 and Business Premium, 15 a month on Business Standard) and estimated Work and Codex messages per 5 hours (15 to 150 with GPT-6 Sol on Plus, as of September 30, 2026). Anthropic publishes multipliers (5x, 20x, 1.25x, 6.25x), Google publishes multipliers (2x, 4x, 5x, 20x), and Microsoft publishes tiers like 'standard usage' and 'highest usage'. Where a vendor doesn't publish a count, this page says 'not published' rather than inventing one.
What happens when a team member hits the limit?
A ChatGPT Business seat keeps going on the workspace's purchased credits, as long as the owner bought some and the seat's credit cap has room. On Claude Team, limits are per member, and the org can enable usage credits at API rates, with bundles from $50 (for $45) to $1,000 (for $700). On Gemini, subscribers can keep chatting on Flash-Lite or buy AI credits. On Microsoft 365 Copilot, a user who hits an admin-set monthly Copilot Credit cap loses agent access until the first of the month.
How often is this page updated?
Every Monday. Each row is re-read from the vendor's own pricing or help page, and the 'Last verified' line under the table carries the date of the last check. Prices on this page moved at least four times between June and September 2026, including OpenAI's $100 Pro tier, Google's $4.99 AI Plus tier, and Microsoft's $18 Copilot Business promo, so a limits table older than a month is usually wrong somewhere.

More on AI for Business

AI for Commercial Real Estate: Lease Abstraction, OMs and Comps Memos, With a Worked Example (2026)

How commercial real estate brokers, owners and asset managers actually use AI in 2026: lease abstraction, offering memorandum screening, comps and BOV memo drafts, and tenant-rep follow-up. Includes a worked example on a 40-page office lease, the five clauses a human always checks, and the seat math at published prices.

7 min

AI for Universities (2026): How to Roll It Out to Staff, With ChatGPT Edu, Claude, Gemini and Copilot Side by Side

How a university or college should roll AI out to its administrative staff: one approved tool, a written data line, and three offices first. Plus the four vendor education programs compared from their own pages, and what a 150-person staff rollout costs on each.

8 min

Claude for Google Workspace (2026): Docs, Sheets and Slides Add-On, Pricing, and Whether You Still Need It With Gemini

Claude now runs in a sidebar inside Google Docs, Sheets and Slides, in public beta on every paid Claude plan as of October 6, 2026. What it does in each app, what it costs a 10-person team on top of Workspace, when Gemini is enough, and how to roll it out without regretting it.

7 min

ChatGPT Business vs Plus (2026): Which One a Small Business Should Actually Pay For

ChatGPT Plus vs Business, as of September 2026: Plus is $20 a month for one person and OpenAI may train on your chats unless you opt out; Business is $20 a seat billed annually or $25 monthly, two seats minimum, with no training by default, admin controls, shared projects for groups, and the Company Knowledge plugin. The side-by-side from OpenAI's pages, and three owner scenarios with a verdict each.

6 min
Justin McKelvey, Fractional CTO and AI consultant in Austin, TX

Written by

Justin McKelvey

Fractional CTO & AI consultant in Austin, TX. 15 years building software, 50+ products shipped, $53M+ in client revenue generated. I help $1M–$50M founders ship production software and automate operations with AI, without hiring a full-time executive team.

Work with me

If this was useful, here are two ways I can help: